Uncategorized

Marathon week!

So there are three days until this event that I’ve been sort of kind of involved in making happen for the past year or whatever.

The largest student fundraiser on campus or in North Carolina.

The single largest donor to North Carolina Children’s Hospital.

Totally calm.

My to-do list is kind of all around me: random artboards in Illustrator, Executive Board meeting minutes, my iPhone notes, sticky notes on my desk, written on my hand, class notes, task list in gmail, Google docs. Really just whatever is closest. I did retrace my steps and compile everything on a few sheets of paper Monday; that helped. Feeling good. Things are happening. Media is responding, graphics are going up, flyers being printed, videos being published, newsletter sent out. Committee members have their tasks for Friday and Saturday. Ready!

What I’m not ready for: this ending. Standing on stage at 7:20 p.m., standing with 13 friends in blue polos, flipping up a poster with a single digit, my number in the final fundraising total reveal. Jumping around and watching the balloons drop. Taking it all in as 2,000 students see the larger impact of their efforts — something that we made possible with this event. How do you let go of something that has played such a large role in shaping who you are and driven a lot of your decisions for the past four years?

That moment isn’t the end, but it is the beginning of the end. After that, we’ll release wrap-up and celebratory publicity in the coming weeks and transition to next year’s Executive Board. Then I let go. Two weeks and I let go.

Luckily my to-do list is long enough to distract me at least for a week. [Side note: I’ll be on the radio doing a live interview about UNC-DM today! Tune into WCHL 97.9 at 4:40 p.m.] I don’t have to think about it until then. But it’s definitely in the back of my mind. I’ve been getting sentimental at every little thing– the last marathon committees meeting, learning my last committee dance, watching the bucket list video, responding to media requests about what UNC Dance Marathon means to me.

I encourage everyone reading this post to visit us at the 16th annual UNC Dance Marathon this Friday and Saturday from 7:30 p.m. Friday to 7:30 p.m. Saturday. This organization has been the single involvement that has most shaped who I am and what I want to do after graduation. Being a part of it and having the opportunity to serve on the Executive Board this year has been a huge honor, and something I wouldn’t trade for anything. I would love to share it with anyone even remotely interested. Let me know if you plan on coming!

Standard

Leave a Reply

