Uncategorized

LLWOC: On Freshman Year

For my last last week of class (LLWOC), I’ve decided to dedicate each of the four days to reminiscing about each of the four years. Yesterday, Monday, was freshman year. So all day, the only music I listened to was from the time period of August 2010 and May 2011. Music, like scent, is one of those powerful things that can instantly transport you to a moment of time. In listening to these songs, I was carried through a lot of those little moments that slipped my mind, and it was really nice.

Last Friday Night, Cooler Than Me: Remember when these were the popular, overplayed songs on the radio? Hah!

The Lucky Ones: I thought I was pretty cool for discovering this singer-songwriter all on my own. I bought the whole album and listened to it often while making the 20-minute trek from good ol’ Craige to north campus. Gosh I can see it so clearly right now. Making a left out of my suite, down two flights of stairs, passing the magnolia leaves on the ground and sketchy bridge leading to the Manning/Ridge intersection, emerging out of the parking lot, waiting for the light outside Craige North, hating every single stupid loud beep from the crosswalk sign, climbing past Hardin and Morrison, through Rams, down Stadium, across South, and arriving to class thoroughly sweaty and out of breath. But I really loved that album. It was so soothing and seemed perfectly appropriate for my first year at UNC. Then, at a Clef Hangers concert when they were calling out alumni in the audience and they said Brendan James’ names, it all made sense.

Just The Way You Are, Misery, Fader, Black & Gold, Little Lion Man, Magic, Impossible: These are songs performed by a cappella groups that year. Shout out to the Achordants, Loreleis and Clef Hangers! After Sunset Serenade, a free a cappella concert on the quad the first week of classes, I was hooked. I became such an a cappella junkie. Not that I’m a particularly gifted singer myself, I just really loved hearing the groups perform together and make my favorite songs even better. When I first heard the Achordants sing Fader, I probably looked like Buddy the Elf meeting Santa Claus. My favorite song, sung by really cool people? Sounding even better? Best day ever! I was secretly one of the Achordants best fans for a while, not missing a single concert until junior year. I also made it to Clef Hangers, Loreleis, Cadence, Tar Heel Voices and Tarpeggios concerts over the years. They were all awesome. Just awesome.

Stereo Love, We R Who We R, Till The World Ends, No Hands, All Of The Lights, Driving Me Crazy: Ahh, yes. The songs of late night freshman year. The frat parties and the dorm rooms. I very clearly remember We R Who We R being the song I got ready to for my first Franklin Street Halloween experience. I remember Sammy Adams came to Lambda Chi that year for a concert. I didn’t actually get to go, but my suitemates did so I got to listening to his stuff. The rest of it, no good explanation. Bad music just happens sometimes.

Never Gonna Leave This Bed: This is the other hallmark album I associate with freshman year. I will only buy an entire album if I love every single song. And that was the case with this one. This song is still one of my all-time top favorites. I listened to this album so so much that year.

White Winter Hymnal, Your Ex-Lover Is Dead, Home: These songs are part of a moment halfway through freshman year. A couple of my friends lived in Morrison, so I was over there all the time. One night when we were in the lobby, they broke out a couple guitars and we started jamming. It didn’t matter if your voice was raspy or you didn’t know the lyrics. I think there were 7-8 of us. It all felt so natural and comfortable. It was a really good group of people and a great night. A lot of the time I spent with that group involved music actually; it’s something engrained in who they are and part of why I loved spending time with them.

The Show Goes On: I clearly remember this being a warmup song during my first ever Carolina basketball game. It was UNC vs. NC State. We won. It was awesome.

Life in Technicolor ii, I’m In Love, Teenage Wasteland: These are my freshman year UNC Dance Marathon songs. Life in Technicolor ii played in the background of a For the Kids story video, and from then on I associated this song with the organization and everything I love about it. Even this year I had it as the sound for alarms for UNC-DM events on my phone. I’m In Love is a song I remember being played at setup, as I was seeing it all come together for the first time. I don’t remember a lot from my first dance marathon– the earlier ones blend together– but I definitely remember that song and seeing my friends so excited to dance for 24 hours together. Teenage Wasteland. Ahh, the single song with the ability to make me emotional at the press of a button. This is the song that plays while the Executive Board reveals, one by one, the numbers that create the year’s fundraising total. I’ve written a lot about dance marathon, so you know how much it means to me already. I’ll just say the first time I saw the balloons drop after revealing the number was one of those eye-opening events that made me see things differently, permanently.

Such a happy little freshman

Such a happy little freshman

If I had known how much my decisions that year would come to affect who I am now, I think I would’ve been more deliberate about them. But then again, I’m glad I had no idea. I definitely heard people telling me that advice, but if I had taken the time to really grasp what all my decisions would come to mean, I’m sure it would’ve been a much more stressful year. Don’t get me wrong, parts of that year definitely were stressful. I was pre-med then, taking chemistry and biology classes way more difficult than I enjoyed at the time. I went through rush and joined a sorority. I was on the club field hockey team. I was in UNC-DM, Habitat for Humanity, Relay for Life, and trying out a few other clubs. All things considered though, I was having a blast.

The first two weeks of UNC, from Carolina Kickoff and moving in to classes getting real, were two really awesome weeks. Coming from a small, nerdy high school where I wasn’t anyone spectacular, I was led to believe I was shy. I was incredibly nervous about being at such a big school. It was also my first time being completely on my own, in the sense of not being at the same school as my twin sister.  A place where I could be Renee, not “Michelle’s twin.” I don’t mean this at all in a negative way toward my sister. I only mean that having my own space to grow like UNC did a lot for my individuality and knowing who I am and what I stand for. The first two weeks I found out that I was actually a social person, and I loved meeting new people. More so than the people around me did. It was totally unexpected and I was loving it. That freshman mentality, when everyone is a potential best friend, is so valuable.  I was getting an early start on my bucket list and doing quintessential UNC things like getting YoPo with friends and riding a full circle on the P2P because at that time it was a wonderful, amazing system, so convenient for transporting students across campus. (Hah.)

It was a great first year. I found my niche and got into a groove. I met a ton of awesome people and got started on things that would grow in significance later. I started to love this school despite my initial hesitation.

Post about sophomore year next!

Standard

One thought on “LLWOC: On Freshman Year

  1. Pingback: (Belated) Reflections on Sophomore Year | Renee Montpetit

Leave a Reply

